Public Adjuster

NIPR Apply or Renew                 Print My License                             Change Contact Info  


           Search the SCDOI Database For My License                          Letters of Certification                     Exam Content Outlines       
  1. Licensing Requirements
  2. Consumers & Public Adjusters

Title 38, Chapter 48 of the South Carolina Code of Laws details the definitions and mandates for public insurance adjusters who practice business in South Carolina.  Please also review Bulletin 2001-1, which is the Department's interpretation of the Public Insurance Adjusters Act, Act 380 of 2000.

Public adjuster licenses are renewed in October of even-numbered years. The fee is $80 unless you are a resident of a state that charges a fee in excess of $80 (e.g., the fee for North Carolina residents is $230 and the fee for Georgia residents is $115).  Public adjuster fees are retaliatory under SC Law so the amount charged by South Carolina will be the amount charged by your home state, subject to an $80 minimum.



Resident Public Adjusters


  • Complete the Application for Public Adjuster License, Form 3518.
  • Pay the license fee of $80. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable.
  • Submit the original South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) Report.
  • Submit the original exam report from PSI showing the applicant has passed the licensing examination. This exam report expires 12 months after issuance. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267 or online. View exam content outlines.
  • Submit a letter of clearance. If unable to verify on the Producer Licensing Database, a letter of clearance is required if the applicant was previously licensed as a resident producer in another state.  
     
Please do not highlight any areas of the documentation being submitted to the department. Highlighted documents may be returned.


Non-Resident Public Adjusters


  • Complete the Application for Public Adjuster License, Form 3518.
  • Pay the license fee of $80. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable. If you are a resident of a state that charges a fee in excess of $80, that rate will be assessed as fees are retaliatory under South Carolina Law. For example, the fee for Georgia residents is $115. The fee for North Carolina residents is $175.  
  • Submit a home state certification. If the license status cannot be verified on the State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD), certification from the applicant's home state will be required. The certification must be legible and less than three months old. The certificate must show the applicant is licensed in their home state as an adjuster and that an adjuster examination has been passed. If the applicant's home state does not require an adjuster examination, then a certificate can be used from another state where the applicant is licensed and has taken and passed an adjuster examination. If the above cannot be provided, then the applicant will be required to pass South Carolina's adjuster examination. Registration for South Carolina's licensing examination is done through PSI. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267 or online.

Change of Address Requirements

South Carolina law requires all licensees to notify the Department of any change in address within 30 days (business, email, mailing, and residential street addresses). 


If you have any additional questions, please visit our FAQs:  FAQ Icon